Give Me More of That Bubblegum Music!

photo (12)

Throughout my entire childhood, I was exposed to a diverse collection of music. My dad would play a variety of different artists and genres while I was around, and he continues to do so today. One of my favorite genres of music when I was young was what is dubbed “bubblegum music.” This sweet-sounding genre can be described as pop music that began in the 60’s that has an upbeat sound. Targeted towards young teens, this music changed popular music forever. I have compiled a list of a few of my favorite tunes and musicians from the bubblegum genre that I used to love to listen to when I was younger.

The Archies began as a comic book and then a fictional cartoon television show in the late 1960’s. Their success and popularity transformed the virtual band into an influential group in the bubblegum genre. Their most popular songs include “Sugar Sugar” and “Feelin’ So Good.”

My brother and I used to love to watch old cartoons on a cable channel called “Boomerang,” which included shows such as Tom & Jerry, Yogi Bear, The Flintstones, and The Jetsons. The music from  many of these these shows fell under the Hanna-Barbera label. Some of our favorite music-related shows included The Banana Splits, Josie & The Pussycats, and some songs from the Scooby-Doo soundtrack.

A few other songs that I distinctly remember from my childhood include “Yummy Yummy Yummy” by the Ohio Express, “Goodie Good Ice Cream Man” by Sunny Four, and “Goody Goody Gumdrops” by 1910 Fruitgum Company (even the song titles sound sweet enough to eat!)

All these songs remind me of fun memories from my childhood. Each of these songs, even if now they seem silly and wacky, was important to me. Although many people haven’t heard of “bubblegum music,” without it, music today would be completely different. (Early in their career, artists such as Britney Spears, Justin Bieber and Miley Cyrus were considered bubblegum.) Bubblegum music will always be a part of me.

51S5FR07WTL

Since I enjoyed listening to these tunes so much, my dad produced a CD dedicated to bubblegum music, titled Right to Chews:Bubblegum Classics Revisited. It featured numerous indie bands paying tribute to some of the genre’s iconic songs. My dad even played drums on a few of the tracks (and I even sang a little on one of them, too!). Bubblegum music influenced me and still reminds me of sweet childhood memories.

Tell Me What You Think!

