All You Need Is LOVE.

photo

“There’s nothing you can do that can’t be done
Nothing you can sing that can’t be sung
Nothing you can say but you can learn how to play the game
It’s easy”

This is one of my favorite songs of all time. It also happens to be my personal motto; the words I try so hard to live by and believe in every day.

As stated in prior posts, my water polo team isn’t the strongest physically. But I believe that we are strong mentally. After our latest game, we were all feeling down from a loss against one of the best teams in our league. Our team captain, who happens to be the only senior left on our entire team, seemed upset. I went up to her, gave her a big hug, and told her this:

I wanted to let you know that you have truly changed my life. You have made me such a different, better person physically and mentally. You are indeed one of my greatest friends and I am so grateful to have you in my life. You are such a great role model to all these girls, including myself, and are such a great leader of this family. You are just like our older sister each of us never had, but always wanted.

I could have continued on and on, but we both began to tear up.

Later that night, I had checked my twitter feed and noticed something that, yet again, nearly brought me to tears. I couldn’t agree more with her. These are the powerful words of one of the greatest people I know, my team captain.

photo_1

The next day, we were told we were to be having a team meeting before practice. We all gathered in our team room and our team captain walked to the front of the room. She wrote on the board in big, red letters, Family“.

photo_2

She then began to explain that our entire team is a family. We each possess different qualities that combine to make us one amazing group of individuals. We all need to work together to make this family grow and learn alongside one another. Even in hard times, we must help each other, support one another, and depend on our sisters. All we need is to LOVE one another, and we will be one step closer to achieving our goals.

As my English teacher often tells us, family is one of the greatest, most important things in life. And I’m happy to conclude that I have found another family that I know will indeed grow, bond, and support one another.

LOVE IS ALL YOU NEED.

-Kayla

One thought on “All You Need Is LOVE.

Tell Me What You Think!

